Building and Development Services

Mission Statement

To guide future growth and development through effective planning, zoning, permitting and enforcement, preserve resources for future generations, and to address the needs and concerns of its citizens while ensuring their quality of life.

Department Function

The Santa Fe County Building and Development Services Department provides services such as zoning, subdivisions, lot splits, development permits for building, business registrations, code enforcement, hydrology, terrain management, special-use permits, and utility allocation to County citizens.

Pre-Application Meeting Process

The Santa Fe County Growth Management Department is implementing a formalized pre-application meeting process in order to better serve our customers. Pre-application meetings will now be conducted on the first Thursday of each month, from 10:00 a.m. through 12:00 p.m. Applicant's whose projects are required by Code to conduct a pre-application meeting prior to submittal, should contact Wayne Dalton at 995-2716, to schedule a pre-application meeting. These requests should be placed a minimum of one week in advance. Developments that are not required by Code to conduct a pre-application meeting may also request a meeting to aid in the submittal and review process.

Members of County staff from numerous departments, including Public Works, Fire, Water and Wastewater, Affordable Housing, Open Space and Trails, Planning and Development Services will be attending these meetings to address development related questions.

Code Inspection Email

The Building and Development Services Department of Santa Fe County's Growth Management Department recently implemented an inspection process for new construction within the unincorporated areas of Santa Fe County. This improved process includes the requirement that certain construction activities undergo a pre-final and/or final inspection. The new email address may also be utilized to contact the County regarding potential Code violations that any member of the public would like to have scrutinized by County Code Enforcement Officers.

The address is: inspections@santafecountynm.gov . Please indicate in the email reference line "Inspection Request"  and in the body of your email the site address and the type of inspection you are requesting, along with your contact information.

Implementation of this program will improve customer service to residents of Santa Fe County who are building or making additions to their property, and assist our Code Enforcement Officers in monitoring illegal construction activities.

Eloy Griego - 986-6343 or egriego@santafecountynm.gov
Code Enforcement Inspector, Northern Area

Rick Lovato - 986-6242 or rlovato@santafecountynm.gov
Code Enforcement Inspector Senior, Central Area

Gene Portillo - 995-6531or aportillo@santafecountynm.gov
Code Enforcement Inspector Senior, Southern Area

Daniel Diaz - 986-2725 or drdiaz@santafecountynm.gov
Code Enforcement Inspector, Central Area

Contact Us

Building & Development Services

Vicki Lucero- 986-6222 or vlopez@santafecountynm.gov
Building and Development Service Manager

Wayne Dalton - 995-2716 or wdalton@santafecountynm.gov
Building & Development Supervisor, Letters of Credit, Variance Requests, Utility Projects

Vicente Archuleta -995-2726 or varchuleta@santafecountynm.gov
Subdivisions

John M. Salazar - 986-6229 or jmsalazar@santafecountynm.gov
Business Licenses

Jose Larranaga- 986-6296 or joselarra@santafecountynm.gov
Commercial Development, Zoning Statements, Liquor Licenses, Cell Towers

Miguel "Mike" Romero -986-6382 or miromero@santafecountynm.gov
Landscape and Rainwater Harvesting, Variance Requests

John Lovato- 986-6228 or jlovato@santafecountynm.gov
Terrain Management, Floodzone Determinations, Variance Requests

Caleb Mente-986-6360 or cmente@santafecountynm.gov
Platting, land divisions, family transfers

Mathew Martinez - 986-6349 or memartinez@santafecountynm.gov
Variances, appeals, architectural reviews, sign permits

Nathan Manzanares - 986-6226 or nathancm@santafecountynm.gov
Residential Development Permits

OTHER IMPORTANT NUMBERS

Footing Inspections (CID) (505) 827-7043
Septic Questions (EID) (505) 827-1840 / Well Questions (State Engineer) (505) 827-6175
Construction Industries (505) 476-4700
City of Santa Fe Land Use (505) 955-6571