Growth Management / Land Use

Mission Statement

To preserve the character of our existing communities and unique rural landscapes; guide future growth and development through effective planning, zoning, data analysis, permitting and enforcement; make available meaningful choices in terms of alternative living environments and life styles and preserve resources for future generations; And to address the needs and concerns of our citizens while ensuring their quality of life.

The Growth Management Department consists of Building and Development Services Division, Planning Division and the Geographical Information Systems (GIS) Division.

Building and Development Services

The Planning Division is responsible for long range planning activities and the implementation of the County Sustainable Growth Management Plan (SGMP).

The Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Division provides mapping services, data integration, data analysis.

Contact Us

Santa Fe County
Growth Management Department
102 Grant Avenue Santa Fe, NM 87501
Main Number: (505) 986-6225
Fax: (505) 986-6389

Business Hours:
Monday – Friday
8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Permit Desk Open between 12 p.m. and 1 p.m. 

GROWTH MANAGEMENT ADMINISTRATION

Director, Penny Ellis-Green (505) 986-6221 or pengreen@santafecountynm.gov
Growth Management Administrative Assistant, Constance Lujan (505) 995-2787 or clujan@santafecountynm.gov
Building and Development Services Manager, Vicki Lucero (505) 986-6222 or vlopez@santafecountynm.gov
Building & Development Services Supervisor, Wayne Dalton (505) 995-2716 or wdalton@santafecountynm.gov
Building and Development Services Administrative Assistant, Erika Garcia (505) 986-6225

Planning Manager, Robert Griego (505) 986-6215 or rgriego@santafecountynm.gov
Planning Administrative Assistant, Chrisann Romero (505) 995-2717 or cnromero@santafecountynm.gov

GIS Coordinator, Amanda Hargis (505) 986-6318 or ahargis@santafecountynm.gov
E-911/ GIS Administrative Assistant, Socorro Ojeda (505) 995-2732 or sojeda@santafecountynm.gov

OTHER IMPORTANT NUMBERS

Footing Inspections (CID) (505) 827-7043
Septic Questions (EID) (505) 827-1840
Well Questions (State Engineer) (505) 827-6175
Construction Industries (505) 476-4700
City of Santa Fe Land Use (505) 955-6571