SANTA FE, NM - In recognition of Martin Luther King Jr. Day, Santa Fe County offices and facilities will be closed on Monday, January 18, 2021. The County will resume COVID modified hours on Tuesday, January 19. Essential services provided by Public Safety will continue as usual.

Appointments Required
Click Here to for contact information

10:00 a.m. - 2:00 p.m. M-F 

Masks Are Required!

Visitor Prescreening:  View Questionnaire - View Policy - View Restricted States

Are you a Community member affected by COVID-19? Need Food, Housing Transportation?
Contact CONNECT Click Here

¿Eres un miembro de la comunidad afectado por la crisis COVID-19? ¿Estás buscando comida, vivienda, transporte u otra ayuda?
Haz clic aquí

Santa Fe County COVID-19 Action Plan 

Join Webex Meetings Here

Santa Fe County

Fire Department

La Puebla Volunteer Fire District

The La Puebla Fire District is situated at the northern end of Santa Fe County and is responsible for providing fire and emergency medical services to the communities of La Puebla, Arroyo Seco, Sombrillo, and Cuarteles out of two stations located at #31 Firehouse Rd. and near the intersection of US Hwy. 285 & #1 Cowboy Lane in Arroyo Seco. In addition to the communities listed above the La Puebla Fire District provides service to parts of Rio Arriba County and Santa Clara Pueblo. The district assists and receives aid from other agencies including, BLM, City of Espanola Fire, Espanola EMS, Rio Arriba County Fire, PHI, Care Flight, State Fire Marshals Office and the other Santa Fe County northern region Districts.

La Puebla Fire Station #1 was completed in September 1982 by the citizens of La Puebla and was awarded a County Achievement Award in July 1983 for its unique solar design. La Puebla Sub Station 2 was built in the late 1990s in Arroyo Seco to cover the west side of La Puebla Fire District. La Puebla Fire District currently has a total of 7 apparatus with one specialty engine, a (CAFS) Compressed Air Foam System truck which is the only one of its kind in Santa Fe County’s northern region.


LaPuebla1.jpg District Chief Sandoval joined the Rio Arriba County Truchas Fire District in 1998. in 2000 he assisted wiht the Cerro Grande Fire in Los Alamos. In 2002 Joseph assisted with the Borrego Fire that threatened his home town of Truchas with Rio Arriba County Truchas Fire District. He left Truchas Fire in 2002 as Fire Lieutenant.
District Chief Sandoval joined the La Puebla Fire District in Santa Fe County in 2002, advancing to the rank of District Chief in 2007 with a total of 14 years of fire service. Within this timeframe Joseph has expanded the La Puebla Fire District Station 1 to include a conference room, office, kitchen area, restrooms and other modifications to the existing station.
District Chief Sandoval holds a full time job with the Los Alamos National Laboratory, where he has been employed for the last 11 years. He lives in La Puebla and is married with one daughter.


Contact Information

District Chief:  Joseph Sandoval
District Phone: 505-753-1177
District Fax: 505-753-9614

Please keep in mind, these are volunteer departments, and there may not be anyone there to answer your call. Leave a message, and someone will return your call as soon as possible.

Insurance Services Organization (ISO) Rating for the La Puebla Volunteer Fire District (4/4Y):

ISO collects information (such as nearest water supply, fire station, station staffing, number of personnel, number and type of fire trucks, pumping capacity, emergency communications, etc.) on municipal fire-protection efforts in communities throughout the United States. Based on the information a numerical rating is given to the area which is used by insurance companies to determine premiums.

Split Classifications:
When a district has a split classification, such as 5/9, the first number is the class that applies to properties within 5 road miles of the responding fire station and 1,000 feet of a creditable water supply (fire hydrant, suction point, or dry hydrant). The second number is the class that applies to properties within 5 road miles of a fire station but beyond 1,000 feet of a credible water supply.

New Classifications (effective July 1, 2014):
There are two new classifications that may appear with the number classifications ‘X’ and ‘Y’ (formerly the ‘9’ and ‘8B’ portion of the split classification, ie: 6/8B). Please note: Communities graded with a single ‘9’ or ‘8B’ classification will remain intact.

Connect with Us


Sign up for news updates!

Get trusted alerts from your
local police & other agencies!

Neighborhood level information by text message.

Sign up now »